Chad Airhart joins Tim Pawlenty’s Iowa Steering Committee

Seven grassroots Republican leaders, including Dallas County Recorder Chad Airhart, have joined Pawlenty for President’s Iowa steering committee.

The group includes Airhart, Fayette County GOP Chair Jim Kirkpatrick, Des Moines attorneys Brian Rickert and William Gustoff, former Mike Huckabee aide Aubrie Johnson, former Iowa GOP Victory program treasurer Mark Havlicek and Des Moines businessman Nick Gerhart.

“In Tim Pawlenty I see a man who isn’t afraid to take on the serious challenges facing America. But more than talk, he has actually taken on many of these issues while serving as the governor of Minnesota,” Airhart said. “He applied common sense conservative principles to government in Minnesota and moved his state in the right direction. Beyond his conservative record of accomplishment, I have been impressed by Gov. Tim Pawlenty’s personal story. I know he understands the problems facing the average American, and I am confident that his solutions will help Americans across the spectrum move closer to achieving the American dream.”

Airhart, a former director of the Waukee Area Chamber of Commerce who was named one of central Iowa’s Forty Under 40  business leaders, defeated a 22-year incumbent in 2010 to become the Dallas County Recorder.  Months into his first term as recorder, Airhart was elected chairman of the Iowa Republican County Officials Association. In 2003, he went to work for Victory ’04, and directed 22 counties in southwest Iowa for the Bush/Cheney campaign. Months before Election Day, he was moved to manage Iowa’s largest county, Polk County. In 2004, Iowa was carried by the Republican presidential nominee for the first time in 20 years. Airhart then went to work for the U.S. Congress, where he directed the Creston office of U.S. Rep. Steve King. He left that position in the summer of 2006 to work for Governor Mitt Romney’s Commonwealth PAC before serving as Iowa coalition director for Romney’s presidential campaign.

Read the entire release here.